WASHINGTON, April 29, 2015 — NASA’s Minority University Research and Education Project (MUREP) has selected 10 minority serving universities for cooperative agreement awards valued at almost $47 million.

Award recipients were selected from 76 proposals after a rigorous peer review by education and technical experts. Each university will receive as much as $1 million per year for a maximum of five years based on the availability of funds and satisfactory performance.

The selected universities are:

• California State University, Los Angeles

• Delaware State University, Dover

• Hampton University, Hampton, Virginia

• Langston University, Langston, Oklahoma

• San Jose State University, San Jose, California

• University of California, Merced

• University of California, Riverside

• University of Texas at El Paso

• University of the Virgin Islands, St. Thomas

• Xavier University of Louisiana, New Orleans

Awards were made through the 2014 Education Opportunities in NASA Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (EONS STEM) NASA research announcement for the establishment of MUREP Institutional Research Opportunity (MIRO) centers.

MIRO awards promote STEM literacy and enhance and sustain the capability of institutions to perform NASA-related research and education.

The goals of the program are to expand the nation’s base for aerospace research and development, increase participation by faculty and students at minority serving institutions, and increase the number of undergraduate and graduate degrees in NASA-related fields awarded to students from minority serving institutions.

For more information on the award process, visit:


For more info on NASA’s education program, please visit: